My FAVOURITE Blanket

What a wonderful day! It’s sunny and warm but not unbearably so.

Days like this remind me how grateful I am to live in a country that affords me the opportunity to work from home, do what I LOVE doing, and arrange my business schedule around TRIPS TO THE BEACH.

Fortunately, I live in a truly scenic area of Ontario, Canada. The region of Sudbury has more than 330 freshwater lakes within its boundaries. We have so many lakes here that they haven’t all been NAMED yet!

I pass along this little tidbit of information because it helps to explain why a “Toronto girl”, born and raised, was drawn to Northern Ontario. I used to think it was because the pace was slower – and it definitely is – but that’s not the whole story. I honestly think it’s because of the access to water.

For me, there’s just nothing more relaxing than floating on my back in a freshwater lake. This morning, I was at the water by 7:15AM and out on the lake for my daily float before 8AM.  As I lay on that luxurious LIQUID BLANKET, partially enveloped yet completely safe, I looked up at the clear blue sky and gave thanks to ______ (fill in the blank with whatever name you use) for the awesome power contained within freshwater lakes.

Please indulge me for the next minute or two while I wax poetic…

My beloved moments floating around in clear, calm water are a personal metaphor for how I feel about the grand scheme of life. I believe we are all, ultimately, looked after. I believe that whether or not I can see it, or even really explain how it works, the Universe has my back.

Granted, there are times when I end up choking and sputtering with water up my nose when I least expected it…but hey, that’s also life!  I  shake it off, clear my head, FIGURE OUT WHAT THAT MOMENT WAS TRYING TO TEACH ME, and keep going.

Does this make sense to you? Does it feel like TRUTH for you, too? I’m curious. I’d like to know.

In the meantime, have a GREAT day!

Talk soon.

Colleen

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My FAVOURITE Blanket

  1. Lara

    I just signed up to receive your blog posts a couple of days ago….so glad I did!! In fact, it couldn’t have come at a better time. You are quite an inspiration…keep doing what you’re doing! I eagerly await your next post and can’t wait to read your book!
    Namaste,
    Lara …A Northern Girl 🙂

    • Dear Lara, So glad you are enjoying these. I wondered if I might be perceived as “going out on a tangent” but then I figured – what the heck, it’s my blog. If I don’t talk about things that are important to me, and ask for people’s feedback, what is the point of writing a post?
      Thanks for your kind words. Colleen

  2. kimberley wahamaa

    Dearest Colleen, I totally agree and love the “liquid blanket” analogy. I too was drawn back to the North after 23 years in Toronto. Water is my Sisu. I almost drowned in a white water rafting accident 22 years ago in August. It wasn’t my time yet. I got back into the water a week after the accident and finished my scuba exam in Tobermory. When I was underwater inside the raft, two people on top of me. I thought I was dead. I saw white light, everything was in slow motion, I had a moment of peace and new that I was going to be ok. I survived. Water is my best friend, a liquid blanket and sand between my toes, life is grand!

    • Hi Kimberley. Wow, this topic sure struck a cord for you. Glad to hear that you drew upon your inner strength and kept right on living!!!!! Have a fabulous day! Colleen

Leave a Reply

