30, 29, 28, 27 Copies Left…and COUNTING

Having a positive attitude and strong belief in your project is all well and good (and I believe these are valuable components), however all the best intentions in the world will REMAIN INTENTIONS unless you take some action steps toward your goal.

Becoming a published author and HOLDING my book in my hands – was STEP ONE.

STEP TWO  is getting my book into EVERYONE ELSE’S hands.

After making sure it was available for sale through Amazon and Barnes & Noble and Chapters.Indigo, I turned my attention to my local Chapters store.

Truth be told, I have ALWAYS pictured people being able to walk into their nearest BOOKSTORE and pick up a copy right off the shelf.

Oh, Yes. I’ve seen it in my mind’s eye for as far back as I can remember.

I’ve visited the Chapters store in Sudbury and visualized my book beside all the others. In fact, I’ve STOOD in the Inspiration section, figured out exactly where my book would fit (in alphabetical order) and SEPARATED the OTHER BOOKS to “make room” for mine on the shelf.

Have YOU ever done this kind of thing? Have you ever pictured your end goal so vividly that you could ALMOST touch it?

That’s what PASSION will do. If you’ve already experienced this…GOOD for YOU!

As soon as my book was available at the printers, I began calling and visiting my local Chapters store. In all honesty, the more appropriate word  for my actions would probably be “hounding.”

I would like to take this moment to thank LYNNE and DIONNA at Chapters, Sudbury. They have been wonderfully supportive – putting up with numerous phone calls and impromptu visits from an eager and enthusiastic new author – with grace and professionalism.

I am grateful to these ladies, and I am pleased to say that my book IS AVAILABLE at the Chapters store in Sudbury.

In fact, it has already sold out once, and they’ve re-ordered 30 copies. The 30 copies came in this morning, and they’re already down to only 27. (I didn’t buy those three – honest, I didn’t!)

In the words of George Peppard, from the 1970’s tv series, The A-Team….”I just love it when a plan comes together”.

Today, Chapters in Sudbury. Tomorrow, Chapters across Canada………….

Talk soon.

Colleen

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “30, 29, 28, 27 Copies Left…and COUNTING

  1. Kimberley Wahamaa

    Congrats! I bought one:) Can’t wait to start reading it. Looking forward to our “Painting in Paris” chick night soon!

  2. Awesome! It’s so great to have such wonderful local support – from friends, media, Chapters bookstore. Can’t wait to hear your feedback on book.

    Also looking forward to our “Evening in Paris” painting party with Louise. Don’t you just LOVE all the different ways Chick Nights can happen?

  3. Sean Barrette

    Yep, it feels great to see the fruit of your inspiration fly off the shelves. And it is important that your friends tell others about it. Word of mouth is a powerful tool.

  4. You are absolutely right, on all three points, Sean. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

