Counting My BLESSINGS

The adage “count your blessings” has always fascinated me because it can have two completely different meanings – depending upon the way you look at it.

Those three words can serve as a reminder to be GRATEFUL – as in “count your blessings” when life is going well. This helps you recognize and APPRECIATE everything you have.

By looking at that simple phrase from another angle, it can also provide much-needed PERSPECTIVE during difficult times – as in, “count your blessings” because things could be worse. When life throws you a curveball, this can help you refocus your attention for some much-needed COMFORT.

There have been periods in my life when that angle has literally SUSTAINED me. These were times when it felt like the bottom had fallen out of my world, to the extent that I truly questioned whether or not I would ever laugh again.

YOU KNOW what I mean, don’t you?  I am NOT the only one who has ever felt this way.

It is for these times that I highly recommend you arm yourself with this wonderful LIFE TOOL. Keep it within easy reach – available for you to pull out and use whenever necessary.

As you begin to notice more and more of the POSITIVE elements in your life – the people, things, and events – more and more of them will APPEAR.

I kid you not. This really works!

Let me give you a perfect example of what I am talking about. Last week, I received an email from my publicist, Cindy Dashnaw to say that Take 5 Magazine wanted me to put together six hot tips for bonding with friends.

After a quick Google search, I was EXCITED to see that Take 5 Publications is based on Vancouver Island, British Columbia.

I was GRATEFUL to Cindy for setting it up, and I was GRATEFUL for the magazine’s interest.  Last Friday I  wrote the piece, emailed it to Cindy, and looked forward to seeing it in print.

TODAY, I opened my weekly report from Cindy and discovered that I had made a mistake. The article wasn’t intended for Take 5 Magazine in B.C. It has gone to Take 5 Magazine in SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA.

AUSTRALIA! A whole new CONTINENT could now hear about my book.

Do you really need a better example of the power of gratitude than THAT?!

Oh, and just in case you’re wondering…Yes, I will CONTINUE to COUNT MY BLESSINGS.

Talk soon.

Colleen

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Counting My BLESSINGS

  1. Oops! Found a typo in this one so I’m sending it out again. The sentence now reads “I am NOT the only one who has ever felt this way.” That’s what I meant. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

